Adventures in pasta-making: Sweet sausage ravioli with tomato sauce

Sausage ravioli with tomato sauce

I received a cryptic message from my Aunt Sandy just before Christmas. “I’ve gotten you something,” she wrote, “It’s not a Christmas present, the timing is just coincidental. All I’m telling you is: it’s shiny, and it’s for your kitchen.”

Imperia pasta roller

When I arrived for Christmas dinner, I could barely contain my excitement when I opened up the bag she handed me to find…

Imperia pasta roller

A pasta roller!

“I don’t know if it’s any good,” she said, ever the humble soul “I saw it at the thrift store for ten bucks and thought you might be able to use it”

"Spaghetti make"

It is indeed shiny, and in mint condition. It was probably made in the 60’s. There was even a recipe written out by someone’s Nonna in the bottom of the well-worn box, instructions for “spgattii make”. Later on, a quick googling revealed that the Imperia Noodle Chef pasta roller, made in Italy, is still manufactured today and is sold at Williams-Sonoma for about $70.

I was a little nervous about making my own pasta. I have never tried it before. Well, there was the time I made quail egg ravioli, but I took a shortcut and used wonton wrappers, which I was not so impressed with.

A confession: I am not a perfect cook. There I said it. I know, you’re shocked. But it’s true. Sometimes when I try to do something new in the kitchen and it doesn’t work out, I get really mad. I mutter atrocious insults at the food, I crash, I stomp. I have been known to throw a full-out tantrum if something goes really wrong. Poor Cheesler has learned to recognize the warning signs, and knows the only thing he can do is collect the dog and slink into the basement to wait out the storm as though weathering a tornado.

I had an ominous feeling that this might happen with home-made pasta. But it didn’t! There, aren’t you relieved? Everything went swimmingly, actually. I was rather surprised at how easy it was and how delicious it turned out.

I started with ravioli, because even though the stuffing part can be time-consuming, I figured it was the easiest type of pasta to roll. A long, flat sheet could not be too difficult.

I used my food processor to form the dough, made from all -purpose flour. I want to get to the market soon to get some nice semolina flour for next time.

Adding the eggs

The recipe called for two whole eggs plus three egg yolks. I saved the egg whites to add to the filling, which was sweet italian sausage with fennel from The Sausage King at St. Lawrence Market, extra fennel, shallots, and parmesan cheese. As you’ll recall, I hate wasting anything, egg whites included.

Fennel

Immediately after forming the dough (which required a few drops of water to come together), I floured it up and tried cramming it through the pasta roller on the widest setting. It did nothing but bunch up above the roller, and the parts that got through looked like stretched out lace, full of holes. Rage simmered on the horizon. “Just try again, Sophie”, I muttered to myself. “It’s got to be the dough, to dough is too tough”. I added a tiny bit more flour and tried again. The same result. I anxiously checked the recipe, which in my haste to “get things rolling”, I had completely ignored, especially the part about letting the dough rest for 30 minutes after forming. Sheepishly, I covered it and set it aside while I made the filling.

After 30 minutes, the relaxed dough eased through the rollers like butter. I breathed a sigh of relief while Cheesler crept back up the stairs with the dog in tow.

My loyal sous-chef

I soon contracted Cheesler for his hand-modelling services again. I think he should consider a second career. Those hands could be famous!

Rolling the pasta

After the pasta sheets were rolled out, my filling had cooled sufficiently to stuff the ravioli. The Imperia did not come with a ravioli attachment, so I would be stuffing the cutting them by hand. Luckily, I had also recently been gifted some vintage kitchen tools to do just that. I decided to employ the use of the “French Garnishing Cutter” to get a frilly edge.

Vintage kitchen tools

Pasta sheets all rolled out

So, I laid the pasta sheets out, and placed a teaspoon or so of the filling in even spaces along the bottom edge. For the first sheet, I used the paper towel as a guide to delineate the middle of the sheet, but later realised I could just eyeball it. Ravioli shaping is not an exact science, after all.

Filling the ravioli

Using a bit of water, I moistened the edges of the sheet and a line in between each mound of filling. Then, I folded the sheet over the filling, and pressed down on the moistened lines in between the mounds, working out any trapped air toward the still-open side of the sheet. Then I sealed of the long bottom edge of the sheet. Using the garnishing cutter, I cut the bottom and side edges, and in between the filling mounds, forming individual raviolis. I left the folded edge flat, just cause that’s how I roll, alright?Ravioli formed and ready to be cut

Cutting the ravioli

Soon, I had lots of raviolis laid out on floured cutting boards across the kitchen. Once finished, I got to work on my simple tomato sauce.

Finished ravioli

Since its winter and fresh tomatoes are kind of ghastly, I used a bottle of Passata, simmered for a full hour with white wine, shallots, garlic, basil and oregano. Before serving, I tossed in a couple tablespoons of grated parmesan cheese. You can’t see the cheese in the sauce but the flavour is enriched ever so slightly.

Finished ravioli

And finally, I cooked the ravioli for 3 minutes in boiling, salted and lightly oiled water. They stood up amazingly! Not a single one burst or fell apart. They were perfect. I shall now retract my earlier admission.

Cooked ravioli

The pasta truly does taste better when it is made fresh and cooked properly. And the long-simmered tomato sauce was bright, rich and full of flavour.

Sausage ravioli with tomato sauce

I can’t wait to try making it as the Italian purists do: with semolina flour and farm-fresh eggs.

Sausage ravioli with tomato sauce

I think, my next pasta project will be penne.

Sausage ravioli with tomato

Mmmm, I love a nice italian sausage with lots of fennel. Here’s the recipes!

Fresh Pasta Dough
Sophie’s Simple Tomato Sauce
Sweet Sausage Ravioli Filling

Sausage ravioli with tomato sauce

Sausage ravioli

Tags: , , , , , , , , , ,

Categories: Food

If you want, you could subscribe to all this

But only if you want. No pressure.

9 Comments on “Adventures in pasta-making: Sweet sausage ravioli with tomato sauce”

  1. daisyandthefox
    January 16, 2013 at 11:31 pm #

    yum!! this pasta looks so good!! 🙂 You truly have me drooling!

  2. January 16, 2013 at 8:19 pm #

    These pictures are amazing!

  3. sandra chrysler
    January 16, 2013 at 6:41 pm #

    Looksa so good. Put some in the freezer for your house sitter.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Adventures in pasta-making: Spaghetti cacio e pepe | Soph n' Stuff - January 25, 2014

    […] ever since I started making home-made pasta with my Imperia pasta roller, it has gotten […]

  2. Courgette carbonara | Soph n' Stuff - June 9, 2013

    […] know: ravioli, spaghetti, […]

  3. Apple, cabbage and cheddar perogies | Soph n' Stuff - March 25, 2013

    […] First, I made ravioli… […]

  4. Adventures in pasta-making: fresh spaghetti and meatballs « Soph n' Stuff - February 8, 2013

    […] more adventures in pasta-making? Check out my sweet sausage ravioli with tomato sauce, or perhaps a ricotta sage cream sauce is more to your […]

  5. A week of make-ahead meals: Day 3 Sausage ravioli with ricotta sage cream sauce « Soph n' Stuff - January 30, 2013

    […] after my adventures in pasta-making, I had some leftover sausage ravioli that I stuck in the […]

Leave a comment