Ricotta gnocchi with pancetta, sage and pine nuts

I’m baaaaack….

And this time in my new(ish) house in my new(ish) kitchen. Ok I need new kitchen cabinets but look how much lovely natural light I get in here? Perfect for food photography. You will not that River remains an apt observer of the culinary arts.

New kitchen

I’ve been racking my brain trying to think of something fun to make for my first blog post in…geez, a year and a half? Has it been that long? Yikes.

I kept going back to things I’ve already made and wanting to re-do them. It took me quite a bit of convincing to make something new, something I’ve never tried before.

And one thing I’ve never tried before, my friends, is gnocchi.

Pancetta

The first time I ever heard the word gnocchi, I was about 20 and in a restaurant ordering from a prix fixe menu with a vegetarian companion. Nothing on the menu was vegetarian, and the hostess resignedly offered to have the chef whip up a ‘gnocchi with seasonal vegetables”. This sounded like the most pretentious bland thing I had ever heard of, but when the dish arrived I was delighted to see that gnocchi was perfect little pasta dumplings sautéed with yummy looking roast vegetables and parmesan cheese. I dare say I was picking from my companion’s plate more than from my own.

Sage

Flash forward 15 years later and I have still never made gnocchi from scratch. I have mastered pizza, pasta and so many other things but have just never tried gnocchi. So, here it is. And it is most decidedly not vegetarian.

I didn’t go with the traditional potato dough because the idea of pasta made of mostly cheese was too irresistible.

Parm

I heard you like cheese, so I made some pasta made of cheese with cheese on it, yo.

And ricotta gnocchi is surprisingly easy to make. I just whipped up this home made ricotta from some milk and lemon juice I had in the fridge…

Ricotta

Just kidding, I used store-bought. Forsooth! I almost convinced you though, didn’t I?

Ricotta

I just drained it a little, added it to some more (parmesan) cheese, some flour and an egg and let my mixer do the work. Interesting how it formed a little ball after it had been drained.

Ricotta

Mixing

The recipe I was following instructed me to mix the dough, then roll it out as was my preference. Panic. I have no preexisting preference! So I just did it like I thought I had seen on tv somewhere or other. And it worked!

Dough

I’ve always liked a more rustic shape in my gnocchi. Always since…last weekend.

Rolling

Gnocchi

Gnocchi

Gnocchi

Ahh, it nice to have the old battle station up and running again.

Battle station

So anyway, roll, cut and quickly boil the gnocchi until they float to the top…

Gnocchi

Sautee with some yummy delicious pancetta, sage and pine nuts.

Sautee

Sautee

Add MORE CHEESE.

Gnocchi

And baby, you got yourself a meal.

Gnocchi

Here’s the recipe!

Ricotta gnocchi with pancetta, sage and pine nuts

Gnocchi

Tags: , , , , , , , ,

Categories: Food

If you want, you could subscribe to all this

But only if you want. No pressure.

4 Comments on “Ricotta gnocchi with pancetta, sage and pine nuts”

  1. Candace Sorrentino
    November 11, 2016 at 6:24 pm #

    Yummy and looks fab. I will show you a little trick my Italian mother in law taught me when making gnocchi on Thursday at work. Well done Sophie, glad you are back at it. So clever!

  2. November 11, 2016 at 5:32 pm #

    beautiful photos and a lovely dog! i think i will try this one!

  3. Sue
    November 11, 2016 at 5:30 pm #

    That sounds, and looks, absolutely delicious!….I’ve never tried making gnocchi, but you make it sound not as tricky as I’d thought. I’m inspired.

  4. November 11, 2016 at 5:17 pm #

    looks amazing

Leave a Reply

