Adventures in pasta-making: fresh spaghetti and meatballs

On this episode of Soph n’ Stuff’s “Adventures in pasta-making”, I bring you…

Making spaghetti

Fresh spaghetti!

I really do feel like I am getting the hang of home-made pasta. Of course, it’s not really all that difficult, with my fabulous vintage Imperia pasta roller. The new star of my kitchen.

Imperia pasta maker

Although I suppose you could say I am taking a shortcut and using the food processor to form the fresh pasta dough, rather than lovingly kneading eggs into a mound of flour on my countertop.

Fresh spaghetti

And I’ll tell you why: I don’t really have that much counter-top space to speak of. And, I am no Mario Batali.

Fresh spaghetti

I decided to make spaghetti because I had some leftover tomato sauce from my chicken parmesan last week. And, with Jamie Oliver‘s ingenious method of using pork sausage for meatballs, this would be a relatively simple (and delicious) meal. I bought some bulk sausage meat, added a few fennel seeds and shaped it into meatballs. Done!

Sausage meatballs

I wanted every element of this meal to be home-made. So I baked some fresh rosemary mini-loafs…

Home-made rosemary mini loaves

And turned them into home-made garlic herb bread.

Garlic herb bread

I just made a batch of dough from my pizza crust recipe and added the rosemary before the flour went in. Then I used half of the batch to make the bread for this meal, and saved the other half for a pizza the next night. I’m always thinking of efficiency in the Soph n’ Stuff kitchen.

Garlic herb bread

The meatballs did not need much fussing over. I just seared them on two sides in a pan, then finished them in the oven with the garlic bread while the tomato sauce heated up.

Cooking the meatballs

The pasta, of course, I cooked just a few minutes before serving the meal. Fresh pasta does not take long to cook at all, so timing is everything here.

Cooking the pasta

There’s Cheesler (the hand model) in action again. He is getting really good at this. Three minutes in boiling salted water is all it took. To cook the pasta, I mean. Not for Cheesler to become a hand model. That just happened naturally and required almost no time in boiling salted water.

Cooking the pasta

Et voila! Fresh, home-made spaghetti and meatball perfection.

Fresh spaghetti and meatballs

Ok, so this is a new background thing I am trying. What do you think of the seamless white? Does it make the food really pop? Or does it look more like a food UFO hovering in space?

Fresh spaghetti and meatballs

Perhaps a nice gingham background is more suited to this recipe? Please feel free to provide feedback, my lovely readers.

Fresh spaghetti and meatballs

Sigh. There is something so wholesome-feeling about a simple meal that is completely home-made.

Okay, here’s another food UFO.

Fresh spaghetti and meatballs

Want more adventures in pasta-making? Check out my sweet sausage ravioli with tomato sauce, or perhaps a ricotta sage cream sauce is more to your liking.

Fresh spaghetti and meatballs

Here are all the recipes!

Sophie’s Simple Tomato Sauce
Fresh Pasta Dough
Ten-minute meatballs
Rosemary garlic and herb bread

Categories: Food

If you want, you could subscribe to all this

But only if you want. No pressure.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Courgette carbonara | Soph n' Stuff - June 9, 2013

    […] know: ravioli, spaghetti, […]

  2. Apple, cabbage and cheddar perogies | Soph n' Stuff - March 25, 2013

    […] Then, spaghetti. […]

  3. Spaghetti cooked Risotto-Style | Silvia's Cucina - February 17, 2013

    […] Adventures in pasta-making: fresh spaghetti and meatballs (sophnstuff.wordpress.com) […]

Leave a Reply

