Quail Egg Ravioli with Truffle Sage Sauce

My beloved and faithful readers, by now you must have come to the realization that I have a keen fascination with quail eggs. Not only are they tiny and adorable with their brown speckled shells which are blue as robin’s eggs inside, but they taste super yummy.

And at the risk of raising your suspicion that I might be a secret advertiser for T&T Supermarket, I can attest to the fact that you can pick up an 18 pack of these cuties for only $2.99.

I can’t quite tell whether they taste much different from chicken eggs, but I love their huge yolk-to-white ratio.

I can’t remember when I first thought of making quail egg ravioli. A distant memory of a food network show in which they made egg yolk ravioli comes to mind – possibly top chef. When I saw it, I thought it was brilliant, and sounded really yummy. Warm, runny egg yolk surrounded by delicate pasta and smothered by a rich creamy sauce.

So when I had a bunch of wonton wrappers left over from making chinese dumplings, and also had a pack of quail eggs, I realized I could finally do it. My instinct was to lean towards an “earthy” flavour profile, so I picked up some portobello mushrooms, sage and truffle butter from the market. Goodness, how my bank account suffered that day, my friends. The truffle butter salesman was very convincing, and I ended up with a small bottle of very high-end truffle oil as well. A frugal gourmet I am not.

I started by making the filling from mushrooms…

shallots,

some cream and a touch of sage…

You see, you can’t just plop a raw quail egg yolk onto a ravioli base and call it a day. It would spread out all over the place and leak like nobody’s business. You must create a tiny nest of deliciousness for the yolk to nestle into, as it were.

But wait, I’ve gotten ahead of myself. First I made the ravioli wrappers by cutting the square wonton wrappers into circles with – you got it! – a beer glass. It had the most perfect ravioli circumference.

Once assembled, I put them aside and started on the sauce. I wanted to keep it simple, and sort of emulate a brown butter sauce. I heated some truffle butter in a saucepan until it was bubbled and brown, then added some sage and let it fry. I added a splash of white wine and cream and let is reduce slightly while I cooked the ravioli, which only needed about 60 seconds in simmering hot water.

Et voila! A few shavings of parmigiano reggiano and the dish was complete! (Note my lovely new food photography props: the fancy plate and the snazzy napkin. Yep, I’m going for pro here, people)

And just as I had hoped, I got a perfect bite with the yolk all runny and soft. Perfection!

As with my experience with the chinese dumplings, I think the wonton wrappers worked out okay, but not fantastic. Next time I will definitely make my own pasta.

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Categories: Food

If you want, you could subscribe to all this

But only if you want. No pressure.

4 Comments on “Quail Egg Ravioli with Truffle Sage Sauce”

  1. June 2, 2011 at 10:15 am #

    Looks and sounds fantastic! I wish I could get ahold of quail eggs here, I love mini eggs bene…

  2. May 25, 2011 at 1:13 pm #

    wow! this sounds amazing

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Niçoise salad | Soph n' Stuff - June 23, 2013

    […] slices instead, and was intrigued. Plus, I have been thinking about Niçoise salad ever since my quail egg […]

  2. Adventures in pasta-making: Sweet sausage ravioli with tomato sauce « Soph n' Stuff - January 16, 2013

    […] nervous about making my own pasta. I have never tried it before. Well, there was the time I made quail egg ravioli, but I took a shortcut and used wonton wrappers, which I was not so impressed […]

Leave a Reply

