A week of make-ahead meals: Day 3 Sausage ravioli with ricotta sage cream sauce

Ravioli with ricotta sage cream sauce

Ok. Technically I did not prepare this make-ahead meal on Sunday with the rest of this week’s dinners.

Frozen home made ravioli

Technically, after my adventures in pasta-making, I had some leftover sausage ravioli that I stuck in the freezer.

Making the sauce

And on Sunday, I realized I had about half a container of ricotta in the fridge that needed to be used up. And lo! What else did I find in my vegetable drawer but some fresh sage!? The three were furthermore married in my mind.

Ricotta sage cream sauce

Today’s menu: Sausage ravioli with ricotta sage sauce.

Ravioli with ricotta sage cream sauce

I love using ricotta in sauces, because it is creamy but not too rich.

Ravioli with ricotta sage cream sauce

On the Soph n’ Stuff scale of effort (1=toast eaten over the sink; 10=Martha Stewart thanksgiving with home-sewn quilted placemats), this recipe is a 4. The ravioli can be cooked right from frozen, about 5 minutes in boiling salted water, and the sauce takes about 7 minutes. Toss up a side salad and you are good to go for a quick weeknight meal. And it’s all from scratch!

Ravioli with ricotta sage cream sauce

Here are the recipes!

Fresh Pasta Dough
Sausage Ravioli Filling
Ricotta Sage Cream Sauce
 
Tags: , , , , , , , , , ,

Categories: Food

If you want, you could subscribe to all this

But only if you want. No pressure.

5 Comments on “A week of make-ahead meals: Day 3 Sausage ravioli with ricotta sage cream sauce”

  1. January 30, 2013 at 9:32 pm #

    This almost looks too good to eat! And I say almost because if it was in front of me right now, I would inhale it! 🙂

    Adieu, scribbler

    • January 31, 2013 at 11:04 am #

      That’s pretty well the reaction we had to it too. I sat down to eat and poof! I looked down and it was gone and I was full with a strong feeling of satisfaction.

      • January 31, 2013 at 6:30 pm #

        Good food. Why does it disappear so quickly?

        Adieu, scribbler

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Adventures in pasta-making: fresh spaghetti and meatballs « Soph n' Stuff - February 8, 2013

    […] more adventures in pasta-making? Check out my sweet sausage ravioli with tomato sauce, or perhaps a ricotta sage cream sauce is more to your […]

  2. Ravioli with Wild Mushroom Demi-glace Cream Sauce « Anthony Richer - February 5, 2013

    […] A week of make-ahead meals: Day 3 Sausage ravioli with ricotta sage cream sauce (sophnstuff.wordpress.com) […]

Leave a Reply

