No bake strawberry shortcake with mascarpone

I know what you’re thinking, loyal readers of Soph n’ Stuff. “Surely this must be some mistake, I never see desserts on here!”

Strawberry shortcake

First of all, don’t call me Shirley. Secondly, it is true that I am not much of a connoisseur of the saccharine arts. If I’m dining out, I will gladly choose a cheese plate over a chocolate lava something any day.

Strawberry shortcake

If I can even manage a dessert course after I’ve finished my main dish, that is. Despite my giant appetite, I do eat like a bird. I feel full after about a handful of food and I absolutely cannot force myself to eat when I’m full. If I do, I get all weird and groany and have a strong urge to roll around on the floor.

Strawberry shortcake

My mom always used to say: “your eyes are bigger than your stomach”, because I would take a heaping plate of food and eat maybe a quarter of it.

Strawberry shortcake

I always got this unnerving mental image of a caricature of myself with giant bulging eyes, drooling and staring intently at whatever food has been placed before me, while my tiny stomach – no bigger than a bean – shrinks away in fear.

Strawberry shortcake

In adulthood I have learned to take smaller portions, and when that is impossible such as at a restaurant, I have learned to overcome the embarrassment of asking for a doggie bag. “No! It was great! Really! I just…have a tiny capacity…and… I’ll just go now…”

Strawberry shortcake

If I do, on rare occasion, opt for dessert I generally lean towards the fruity and/or creamy end of the spectrum. I dislike rich chocolately cakes and things that are cloyingly sweet, like baklava. But I can endure berry things, maybe an hour or so after finishing my main meal. Especially strawberries when they are bright and sweet and next to something vanilla and creamy.

Strawberry shortcake

Sigh…that brings me, however, to my next curious dislike, which is whipped cream. I can’t stand the stuff. It can’t be whipped cream next to my strawberries.

Strawberry shortcake

So when I saw this recipe during one of my endless scrollings through twitter, I thought “oh, I can make that, and it sounds pretty tasty. Except for the whipped cream.”

Strawberry shortcake

Then it occurred to me that I had half a tub of expensive mascarpone cheese at home that I had been pondering what to do with. At almost ten bucks a pop, I wasn’t going to let it go to waste.

Strawberry shortcake

I thought a whipped mascarpone topping would substitute according to my odd tastes very nicely.

Strawberry shortcake

Ladyfingers are the weirdest name for a cookie. Especially these giant ones. They look nothing like fingers – especially those of a lady. These were dipped in strawberry juice, kind of like when you are making tiramisu and you dip the ladyfingers in booze. In fact this whole dessert is…kind of like a strawberry tiramisu altogether! Sans booze and coffee.

Strawberry shortcake

I bet you could put some kind of liqueur in this and it would taste pretty good. Tell me, what liqueur would you use, if any?

Strawberry shortcake

This recipe is really easy and it turns out sooooo beautifully. It is not too sweet so it appeals to the dessert-hater-berry-lover in me.

Here is the recipe!

Perfect for an early summer evening on the patio. I will definitely be making this the next time I go to a potluck or have company over for a barbecue this summer!

Strawberry shortcake

 

 

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , ,

Categories: Food

If you want, you could subscribe to all this

But only if you want. No pressure.

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

