Coconut shrimp featuring Bee Sting hot sauce

This is the third and final post in my series featuring Sauce Empire and their fantastic line of hot sauces. You may recall reading about Jerk fish tacos with Señor Manzana and Chicken Shawarma salad with Roasted Rojo.

Coconut shrimp

Here at Soph n’ Stuff we are all about diversity in cuisines. Someone once told me I am a culinary explorer and this is what I try to bring to this little blog.

Coconut shrimp

Now, dearies, I bring to you the perfect accompaniment to coconut shrimp – Bee Sting! A bright citrusy hot sauce with thai chilis and orange.

Bee sting

When I think of thai chilis and orange I think of other fruity, spicy, thai things. Like mango salad! And coconut! And peanut noodles!

Mango salad

So many exclamation marks! Calm down, Soph.

Coconut oil

I have never made coconut shrimp, and in fact it has been years since I’ve even eaten it. Most likely as an appetizer at a Spring Rolls restaurant. And I think they generally serve it with a sweet red chili dipping sauce.

Coconut shrimp

I thought a pairing with orange would go just as well, if not better.

Coconut shrimp

Naturally, I decided to fry the coconut shrimp in coconut oil. Just for that extra layer of coconuttey flavour. Coconut oil is the new trend and everyone is using it for everything, myself included. It is food, and it is also a beauty product and a health supplement. Also it is GREAT for frying.

Coconut shrimp

I wanted to offset the richness of the fried shrimp with something bright and fresh, so I served it alongside a mango salad and…you’ll never guess…peanut noodles.

Coconut shrimp

The bee sting sauce was perfect with all of these dishes. I started off just dipping the shrimp in it, but soon I was adding some to the mango salad and pouring a little into the noodles.

Bee sting

Oh how my tastebuds were awakened!

Coconut shrimp

Here is the recipe!

Coconut shrimp

Tags: , , , , , , , , , ,

Categories: Food

If you want, you could subscribe to all this

But only if you want. No pressure.

One Comment on “Coconut shrimp featuring Bee Sting hot sauce”

  1. April 30, 2015 at 6:30 pm #

    My first taste of coconut shrimp was at my brothers house. By far the best I’ve ever had. His wife is an amazing cook. Loved your post. Sure brought back wonderful memories! Have a great day, Koko

Leave a Reply

