Wild leek and duck pizza

It was an early spring day. Crisply sunny, but the ground was still firm with frost. The two of us walked through the forest with our canine companion. He is prone to bursts of excited barking when we cross paths with other hikers and dogs, so I watched the trail ahead carefully.

Forest walk

I was watching so carefully, in fact, that I almost missed them. It was Cheesler who spotted them first.

Wild leek

The wild leeks. Their dewy green leaves poked up through the dried leaves of the forest floor, springing up in clumps at the bases of trees. I picked a leaf and gave it a sniff, as there is a type of forest lily that can easily be mistaken for a wild leek. Lucky for me, the leaf smelled freshly and beautifully of young onion. The elusive ramps are only in season for 2-3 weeks out of the year and only found on the shady hillsides of forests, so I was excited to see such a large quantity I could harvest without compromising the patch.

I knew I would have to make a pizza with my succulent foraged greens. Since they were found and harvested locally I decided to source my other ingredients locally too.

Wild leek pizza

C’est Bon Goat cheese from St. Mary’s, Ontario. And I had a duck breast in the freezer that I purchased from a local organic farm last fall.

Wild leek pizza

I thought that searing the duck breast would not quite be appropriate for this recipe, so I braised it for two hours in Ontario maple syrup and apple cider vinegar, resulting in a succulent “pulled” duck.

Wild leek pizza

A sprinkling of parmesan cheese (which was not locally produced, unfortunately) topped everything off and into the oven went my forest themed pizza!

Wild leek pizza

The leeks were really the star of the show so I left them unsliced and in their whole shapely glory.

Wild leek pizza

So delicious. The sharp notes of the goat cheese were really lovely next to the sweetness of the duck and the smooth onion flavour of the leeks.

Wild leek pizza

Keep an eye out if you are hiking in the woods and you might just get your hands on these ramps! Just make sure to harvest selectively – don’t pick everything in one patch because they won’t grow back next year! Pick a few from a bunch and move on. And – hiker’s wisdom – don’t pick the ones immediately next to a trail where people walk their dogs 🙂

Wild leek pizza

Here is the recipe!

Wild leek pizza

 

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , ,

Categories: Food

If you want, you could subscribe to all this

But only if you want. No pressure.

4 Comments on “Wild leek and duck pizza”

  1. Kelly
    July 29, 2016 at 1:50 pm #

    Yum! What a cool find!

  2. That looks really good! 🙂

  3. April 28, 2015 at 6:14 pm #

    What an elegant pizza! So wonderful you had the opportunity of picking the wild garlic during your walk!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Poached eggs and ramps on rye | Soph n' Stuff - May 14, 2015

    […] when I stumbled across a patch of wild leeks a few weeks ago and was ecstatic to collect them for some seasonal […]

Leave a Reply

