Homemade flour tortillas

Whenever I have a culinary quest that involves anything remotely Southwest…

Crisco

I feel completely comfortable consulting the Pioneer Woman for her perky, simple, step-by-step instructions.

Flour

I have dabbled in making masa corn tortillas, which I love in a fish taco situation.

Flour tortillas

But when I have a pork butt simmering away in the slow cooker to make pulled pork, my mind always drifts to carnitas.

Flour tortillas

For which I strongly believe a flour tortilla is necessary. But the ones in the supermarket can get really boring, plus its hard to find small taco-shaped ones.

Flour tortillas

Making flour tortillas at home was surprisingly easy using PW’s method. Methinks I shall be returning to this one indeed!

Flour tortillas

I didn’t have lard as she suggested so I used crisco instead, and the tortillas still came out beautifully.

Flour tortillas

Mmm, you just can’t beat a fresh tortilla when you are making fancy tacos. I served these pork tacos with a spicy slaw and an avocado/lime/cilantro cream.

Homemade flour tortillas

So delicious. You should try making your own, too!

Carnitas

Here’s the recipe!

Tags: , , , , , , ,

Categories: Food

If you want, you could subscribe to all this

But only if you want. No pressure.

3 Comments on “Homemade flour tortillas”

  1. March 12, 2014 at 6:51 pm #

    Deelicious! If I wanted to make corn tortillas, could I just subsitute masa instead of flour?

    • March 12, 2014 at 6:55 pm #

      I have pondered this question myself. I think it might work with slightly different results. The gluten in the wheat flour probably makes the excellent texture. But I have done masa tortillas without the lard and they turned out well. Just mass and water. Let’s both try and report back!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Danske Fiskefrikadeller – Danish Fish Patties | RecipeReminiscing - March 15, 2014

    […] Homemade flour tortillas (sophnstuff.wordpress.com) […]

Leave a Reply

