Slow cooker caramelized onions

Wait a second here. There is an EASY way to make caramelized onions? In bulk?

Preparing the onions

How have I lived my life up to this point without considering caramelized onions in a slow cooker?

Preparing the onions

I love caramelized onions. Sweet and savoury and mellow, they add a certain je ne sais quois to a dish. But they take so long to make! I have cheated and used the quick knock off method, but it is not quite the same.

After 10 hours

On a weeknight, I’m not prepared to spend 45 minutes lazily stirring a pan of onions just so I can get a few spoonfuls on my truffle pig pizza.

Caramelized onions

Making caramelized onions in the slow cooker is so easy: you just slice up enough onions to fill it about 3/4 full, drizzle a bit of olive oil over top, cover and cook on low for 10 hours. Your house will smell amazing.

Caramelized onions

Then, when they are ready, you can freeze them in individual portions. The frozen onions can be reconstituted by heating them for a few minutes in a non-stick skillet. Maybe with a little butter. Oooh, or some sherry. I love sherry and onions.

Caramelized onions

My life has changed forever. Here’s the recipe!

Tags: , , , , , , ,

Categories: Food

If you want, you could subscribe to all this

But only if you want. No pressure.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. French onion soup grilled cheese | Soph n' Stuff - February 6, 2014

    […] to give up the loyal companionship of one Cheesler, I was certainly prepared to put my new batch of slow cooker caramelized onions to […]

Leave a Reply

