Deep fried mac n’ cheese balls

I know, I know. I am a bad bad girl and I did a bad bad thing.

Mac n' Cheese Balls

Mac n’ cheese is not the most health conscious meal in the first place. But to bread it, then deep fry it? Please.

Mac n' Cheese Balls

Wilford Brimley would like to talk to me about diabeetus.

Mac n' Cheese Balls

Although my brain hung its proverbial head in shame, my tastebuds celebrated fanatically at this decadent snack.

Mac n' Cheese Balls

The story is, I have been wanting to make these ever since I saw them on *what other Food Network show than* Diners, Drive-Ins and Dives. And when I mistakenly made a huge…no, gargantuan vat of mac n’ cheese on a Friday night, the fate of the leftovers was sealed. They would be deep fried and they would be delicious.

Mac n' Cheese balls

To make this recipe from fresh mac n’ cheese is not possible. You must make the mac n’ cheese, refrigerate it, then form the balls. This was perfect for me because I was dealing with leftover mac. So I just squeezed it all up into balls, set them on a baking sheet and popped them into the freezer for 2 hours to firm up. Once frozen, they are quite easy to work with.

Mac n' Cheese Balls

A quick dip into egg, then the breading.

Mac n' Cheese balls

I didn’t have any breadcrumbs, but after rummaging around in my pantry, I found some ancient caesar croutons. After a quick blitz in my magic bullet…ta-da! Breadcrumbs! And for extra crunch I added cornmeal.

Mac n' Cheese Balls

These little nuggets of deliciousness can be served with a spicy ketchup. I mixed a little sriracha into regular ol’ ketchup and it was fantastic. Here’s the recipe for Deep Fried Mac n’ Cheese Balls.

Mac n' Cheese balls

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , ,

Categories: Food

If you want, you could subscribe to all this

But only if you want. No pressure.

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

