Huevos Rancheros

When it comes to brunch, I love love love anything with mexican flavours.

Roasting potatoes

The combination of beans and salsa and eggs. Divine.

Making salsa

I have a confession to make. A slightly embarrassing one.

Making salsa

Until very recently, I didn’t know what salsa was.

Making salsa

Well, sort of. You see, in my mind there were always two salsas. There was the kind you buy at the store, in a jar, in which the vegetables are all tender and the flavours are all intermingled and it’s sort of a uniform consistency.

Cooking the eggs in salsa

Then there’s the kind you make at home, from fresh vegetables: tomatoes, onions, and cilantro. It is chunky, crunchy and the the liquids kind of separate from the solids to pool into the bottom of the bowl. Delicious and fresh, but just…different.

Cooking eggs in salsa

I only just realized recently that there are two separate applications for these two different kinds of salsa. The word salsa itself means sauce, I knew that. But the home-made kind, with the fresh vegetables, is Salsa Fresca. “Fresh Sauce”.

Preparing the huevos

The other kind, the store-bought kind, is actually Salsa Roja. “Red Sauce”. And the vegetables are cooked.

Layer of refried black beans

Mind=blown.

Layer of salsa

I could make salsa at home and it would be the same (or much much better) than the store-bought kind! And much cheaper.

Layer of cheese

I like salsa fresca, I really do. It’s good in its own right, for dipping chips or serving with barbecued meats and fish. But I also like the other kind. The red sauce.

Out of the oven

Let’s call this discovery a culinary epiphany. The information was always out there, just waiting for me to figure it out. I’m sure if I’d been to Mexico I would have realized it sooner.

In go the eggs

Anyway, the way I learned was from watching an episode of You Gotta Eat Here on the Food Network. The very same episode where I was inspired to recreate Edgar restaurant’s La Bucheronne Breakfast.

Layer of salsa

The same segment included a demonstration of how the chef makes her own unique version of Huevos Rancheros. Naturally, I had to recreate this one as well.

More cheese

And the home-made salsa was indeed, mind-blowing. I will never to back to store bought salsa.

Into the oven they go

This recipe is amazing. Layers of beans, cheese, salsa and eggs, topped with more cheese.

Done!

Served with lovely little roasted potatoes.

Huevos Rancheros

Mine didn’t turn out as pretty as Edgar’s – I couldn’t figure out how to get the whole mess out of the little dish it baked in, so I ended up just serving it as-is.

Guacamole

Don’t forget the guacamole!

Huevos Rancheros

And definitely check out Edgar restaurant if you are ever in Gatineau. I know I will.

Huevos Rancheros

Here are the recipes!

Huevos Rancheros
Salsa Roja

Huevos Rancheros

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Categories: Food

If you want, you could subscribe to all this

But only if you want. No pressure.

3 Comments on “Huevos Rancheros”

  1. Lolo
    April 6, 2013 at 7:16 pm #

    Another Mexican food lover!! I believe a culinary vacation is in order!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Who likes breakfast wraps? | Soph n' Stuff - February 22, 2015

    […] a Soph n’ Stuff reader you know of my obsession with mexican breakfasts, or […]

  2. Salsa roja | Soph n' Stuff - April 7, 2013

    […] completely forgot to post it with yesterday’s Huevos Rancheros recipe. I don’t know why, I guess I am not totally blog savvy as of yet, even though I have […]

Leave a Reply

