Burgers with maple glazed bacon, chipotle-caramelized onions and white cheddar

“I want cheeseburgers this weekend.” Cheesler stated matter-of-factly while we were driving home from work.

Cheeseburgers

“I don’t care what the weather is like. I don’t care if I have to dig out a space for the barbecue.” He continued, “I want cheeseburgers and nothing is going to stop me from having them.”

The meat mixture

“Welp,” I concurred, “That can be arranged.”

Forming the burgers

We have, in years past, been known to be lazy and buy a box of frozen patties to keep in the freezer for those quick weekend BBQs. But something in my culinary psyche cringes every time I throw that frozen puck of mechanically shaped meat onto the grill. And all those recalls that I read about in the news just give me the creeps.

Patties to freeze

It just makes so much more sense to take the time to make them from scratch. It soothes my mind to know exactly what ingredients are in my burger.

Home-made sesame buns

So, I made a big old batch of Soph n’ Stuff’s tasty burgers. We would snovel down a few for dinner and freeze the rest for later use.

Glazing the bacon

In the grocery store, Cheesler instinctively reached for the 8-pack of buns. “Not this time,” I said proudly, “this time, I’m making home-made buns.”

Maple-glazed bacon

The secret to my tasty burgers is simple. I don’t use any breadcrumbs or eggs. Meat sticks together well enough on its own – I’ve never understood why people use fillers. Can anyone enlighten me?

Yam fries

Then, I grate fresh onions and garlic directly into the raw meat mixture. This way you get the flavours but not the little chunks that usually end up burning. Add a few other spices and dashes of things and the patties can be formed.

Yam fries

They should be uniformly thick for even cooking. I use a tumbler to squash down meatballs into patty shapes.

BBQ Time!

Once the patties are formed they can be cooked right away, or sealed up and frozen. You’ll notice I make the patties fairly thin. This is so that they can be easily cooked from frozen, just like the store-bought burgers.

Cheeseburgers

But believe me, these are a million times tastier.

Cheeseburgers

I made my sesame buns earlier in the day. This was the first time I had ever made home-made hamburger buns, so I wasn’t quite sure how they would turn out. I was glad to discover that we wouldn’t need to make an emergency bun run as the burgers grilled away in the backyard. They were great! And so cute-looking. Really, that is the most important quality of a bun – its cuteness.

Cheeseburgers

As I was in full culinary goddess mode, I caramelized some onions with chipotle peppers, then made a spicy onion mayo spread for a condiment.

Cheeseburgers

And then I made some maple-glazed bacon. You know…because bacon.

Cheeseburgers

And as a final touch, I thought some nice 5 year aged Canadian cheddar would top it all off nicely.

Cheeseburgers

Oops, I almost forgot about the home-made yam fries. Do you want to move in yet?

Cheeseburgers

Here are the recipes!

Maple-glazed bacon
Chipotle Caramelized Onion Mayo
Soph n’ Stuff’s Tasty Burgers
Hamburger Buns
Cheeseburgers
Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Categories: Food

If you want, you could subscribe to all this

But only if you want. No pressure.

2 Comments on “Burgers with maple glazed bacon, chipotle-caramelized onions and white cheddar”

  1. April 3, 2013 at 11:49 pm #

    Wow. Fantastic burger tutorial. I am going to have to try this maple glazed bacon….

    • sandra chrysler
      April 4, 2013 at 9:18 am #

      I’m packing my stuff.

Leave a Reply

