Thai red curry shrimp with eggplant

Oh how I love Thai food.

Thai eggplant

Once you get the hang of its basic flavour combinations, it’s easy to invent your own thai-inspired dishes. Lemongrass, chili, basil, lime leaf and coconut are all very common Thai flavours.

Thai eggplant

I did make my own green curry paste from scratch once. It was tasty, but labour intensive. It involved a lot of bashing things with a kitchen mallet, grinding things with a mortar and pestle and questioningly sniffing things. Maybe one day when I have much more time on my hands, I will make a big batch.

Cooking the curry

For weeknights, however, I have come to realize that the curry pastes made by Thai Kitchen are just as tasty, and so much easier.

Thai red curry shrimp with eggplant

I saw these little eggplants during a recent trip to Thanh Phat in Guelph and couldn’t resist buying some. They are so cute! And I’ve never seen these in a regular grocery store.

Thai red curry shrimp with eggplant

For some reason I thought they were Japanese but after some google image research realized they were Thai. So, naturally, I turned my thoughts to a nice eggplant curry.

Thai red curry shrimp with eggplant

I had some shrimp in the freezer, and some basil and snap peas on hand, so it all came together pretty quickly.

Shiitake mushroom

Thai red curry shrimp with eggplant.

Thai red curry shrimp with eggplant

Most Thai curries are just a coconut-based stew served over rice. This recipe is no different, and it is hearty, sweet and rich.

Thai red curry shrimp

I had these canned shiitake mushrooms in the pantry that I bought on a whim at Sobey’s. I’ve never used canned mushrooms but I thought I would give it a try.

Thai red curry shrimp with eggplant

And guess what? They’re awesome! They’re plump and juicy and meaty, not at all like the dried up fresh variety you get in most grocery stores around here. And they’re cheap! I think the can was $1.69 or something close. That is much less pricey than buying them fresh, when they cost up to $10 a pound. I shall have to stock up on these for sure.

Thai red curry shrimp

Here’s the recipe!

Tags: , , , , , , , , , ,

Categories: Food

If you want, you could subscribe to all this

But only if you want. No pressure.

2 Comments on “Thai red curry shrimp with eggplant”

  1. kahht
    April 6, 2013 at 7:47 pm #

    Mmmm, you are a fantastic photographer. This looks absolutely delicious. Thanks for sharing.

Leave a Reply

