Cornmeal pancakes

Hotcakes. Flapjacks. Pannekoeken. Crepes. Johnny Cakes. Call them what you will, these brunch beauts are darn delicious.

Cornmeal pancakes

I like my pancakes crisp, crunchy and golden on the outside and soft on the inside. And I like them small, no bigger than my palm. None of this giant fluffy cakey business you get in a grand slam breakfast.

Pouring the batter

I have come to know through trial and error that the secret to a crispy-on-the-outside pancake is to cook it over medium to high heat, in a cast-iron skillet, using a butter/oil mixture. The butter ensures that golden crispy crust and the oil reduces the amount of smoke coming off the pan, essentially raising the burning temperature of the butter.

Watching the bubbles appear

I usually set up a pancake station as follows: I preheat the oven to 275 F and place a pizza pan (the kind with the holes) inside. I have my skillet on the stovetop, ready at perfect medium-high temperature. I have a stick of butter and my canola oil on one side, and my bowl of batter on the other. I have my flipper at the ready, and a 1/4 cup measuring cup on standby.

Cornmeal pancakes

Working quickly, I drizzle a small amount of oil in the pan, then a little tiny chunk of butter. I let it sizzle and spread it around. Then, I plop 1/4 cup of my batter into the middle and even it out carefully. I watch it closely. When bubbles pop on the surface, flip! over it goes. The bottom should be golden brown. I give the second side about a minute, then it is popped into the oven onto the pizza tray. The holes in the tray prevent the pancake from getting soggy on the bottom.

Cornmeal pancakes

I repeat this process, one at a time, until I have a pizza pan with plenty of pancakes. I lay them out in a single layer to retain the crispness. I know, it seems silly to do them one at a time, but when cooked in this method they cook quickly so it doesn’t really take that long. And when you are seeking pancake perfection, each one needs personal attention.

Cornmeal pancakes

I find the cornmeal in the batter helps give the pancakes that extra crispyness and prevents cake-ifying. I found a great recipe on the Pioneer Woman‘s blog (where else) that has been my go-to pancake resource.

Cornmeal pancakes

A little bit of butter, a drizzle of maple syrup, and you will be babbling with brunchful bliss.

Cornmeal pancakes

Uh oh, can you see who is lurking in the background there? Hoping I will turn my back for a second so he can abscond with my vittles? Fat chance!

Cornmeal pancakes

So, will you try cornmeal pancakes next time? I promise, you won’t be disappointed!

Cornmeal pancakes

Here’s the recipe!

Tags: , , , , , , , , , ,

Categories: Food

If you want, you could subscribe to all this

But only if you want. No pressure.

2 Comments on “Cornmeal pancakes”

  1. February 10, 2013 at 12:24 pm #

    nice ..love the pic with the drizzling syrup!

  2. February 10, 2013 at 11:09 am #

    Reblogged this on ARZcreation.com.

Leave a Reply

