A week of make-ahead meals: Day 5 Baked Chicken Parmesan

So, my pretties, here were are in the home stretch of Soph n’ Stuff’s week of make-ahead meals. Today I bring you…

Baked chicken parm

Chicken Parmesan!

Herbs and zest

The traditional way of making chicken parm is to bread the chicken breasts, fry them in oil, top them with tomato sauce and cheese and bake until the cheese melts.

Sunday to-do list

I personally prefer to bake the chicken, using cornmeal as the breading agent rather than flour. This ensures the chicken crust still gets nice and crispy, but is a million times lighter.

Chicken breading station

I simmered a batch of my Simple Tomato Sauce on Sunday afternoon.

Simmering tomato sauce

Look! You can see the vegetables I was roasting for my Roasted Eggplant Stew.

Pounding the chicken

And I also baked the breaded cornmealed chicken breasts and basically pre-assembled the chicken parm, so that all I would have to do to prepare it for dinner would be to stick it back in the oven to heat it through and  melt all the cheese on top.

Chicken parm

On the Soph n’ Stuff scale of effort (1 being leftover crostini; 10 being Martha Stewart thanksgiving dinner with home-made cranberry gin fizz cocktails), this recipe is a 4 – simply because the preparation of a side dish and salad is necessary to complete the meal.

Parmesan cheese

I thought a nice lemony basilly pasta would make a good foundation.

Chicken parm

And of course, the obligatory salad. Gotta have something green!

Chicken parm

I love salad in the summer, full of fresh local ingredients – but in the winter I feel like the only reason I eat it is because it’s something green and I need the vitamins to fend off scurvy.

Chicken parm

So there you have it! Baked chicken parmesan with lemony basil pasta. Bon appetit!

Chicken parm

And here’s the recipes:

Baked Chicken Parmesan
Lemony basil pasta
Tags: , , , , , , , , , ,

Categories: Food

If you want, you could subscribe to all this

But only if you want. No pressure.

2 Comments on “A week of make-ahead meals: Day 5 Baked Chicken Parmesan”

  1. March 13, 2014 at 2:53 am #

    Look Delicious 🙂
    Thanks for the recipe

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Adventures in pasta-making: fresh spaghetti and meatballs « Soph n' Stuff - February 8, 2013

    […] decided to make spaghetti because I had some leftover tomato sauce from my chicken parmesan last week. And, with Jamie Oliver‘s ingenious method of using pork sausage for meatballs, […]

Leave a Reply

