A week of make-ahead meals: Day 1 Tortilla chicken soup

Tortilla chicken soup

My passion for cooking is limited. I mean, I love to cook – but only when I’m not exhausted. Otherwise it is a chore, and I hate it when a fun thing turns into a chore.

Tortilla chicken soup

I gave up my life in the city to become a filthy commuter; after getting up at 5:30 am and slogging my way through a 12 hour day of work and travel, I hardly feel inspired to spend hours whipping up a gourmet feast. I just want to come home, strap on the feedbag and park myself in front of Netflix until bedtime. Despite my best intentions – meticulously planning out quick and wholesome weeknight meals – I have been known to dejectedly succumb to the siren’s call of the online pizza delivery order.

Tortilla chicken soup

Weekends are another story. I will happily toss aside the feedbag, strap on my apron and spend the whole day roasting, baking, whisking and whipping, then spending another couple of hours taking photos of my creations and blogging away to my heart’s content. If only there were a way to extend my weekend cooking frenzy into the week ahead. But there is! This last Sunday, I spent all day preparing make-ahead meals for Monday to Friday this week, which will require little to no effort to prepare and serve on the day of, and will hopefully help to avoid the “click of shame”.

Tortilla chicken soup

Today: Tortilla Chicken Soup.

This keeps beautifully, in fact the flavours mingle and intensify as with any soup.

Tortilla chicken soup

All that is required is to heat it up on the stovetop (I don’t own a microwave), garnish with avocado, cilantro and yogourt and serve with tortilla chips. It is hearty and healthy and spicy – perfect for a dreary January evening.

Tortilla chicken soup

Delish! On a scale of 1 – 10 (when 1 is say, making a piece of toast and 10 is say, assembling a Martha Stewart thanksgiving dinner for 10 complete with centrepiece), this make-ahead meal is a 2.

Tortilla chicken soup

Here’s the recipe. Do you recognize it? You’ve seen it before on Soph n’ Stuff. Enjoy!

Tags: , , , , , , , ,

Categories: Food

If you want, you could subscribe to all this

But only if you want. No pressure.

3 Comments on “A week of make-ahead meals: Day 1 Tortilla chicken soup”

  1. January 28, 2013 at 10:49 pm #

    This looks so amazing I will have to try it. Just the presentation by itself makes it a 2 in my book. If your looking for a good beer to pair it with follow my blog

  2. January 28, 2013 at 9:26 pm #

    I’m so with you… Getting up before the sun rises is pretty draining, especially during the cold winters!! I’ll basically come home from work, pop a frozen entrée into the microwave, and watch TV until I can barely stay awake to brush my teeth.

    Your soup looks so filling and flavorful! I love the tomatoes and black beans; they’re making me hungry…

  3. January 28, 2013 at 8:42 pm #

    cant wait to try this. looks great

Leave a Reply

