A night of antipasto indulgence

Antipasto

I’ve been watching a lot of Sopranos. I’ve watched it twice before from beginning to end, and am now on my third round. But it’s just one of those shows that you can watch over and over again. And each time I get back into it, I get the Italian-American food fever.

Antipasto

The scenes at the Soprano’s Sunday dinner really get to me, and I inevitably end up dreamily contemplating Sunday Gravy and Baked Ziti. But one episode where Carmela and Ro dine at Vesuvio’s and chat over prosciutto and melon put me right over the edge. “I must have that,” I thought vehemently to myself, “I must have prosciutto and melon”.

Prosciutto

The very next morning, after disembarking the GO Train at Union Station, I made my weekly trip to the St. Lawrence Market.

I didn’t just get some prosciutto and some melon.

Antipasto platter

Let’s just say I got a few more things than that. Later, I also picked up a nice bottle of Chianti. I looked for Ruffino Chianti which is what they’re always drinking on the show, but alas, my little local LCBO does not carry it.

Antipasto

To add to my  purchased treasures, I baked up some home-made crusty italian bread and a rosemary olive oil flatbread.

Rosemary olive oil flatbread

To top it all off (and to squeeze at least one green vegetable into the meal), I made some Easy Rapini, to be served cool with the fabulous antipasto tray.

Rapini

Cheesler and I enjoyed a good feed of cured meats, fancy cheeses and marinated veggies while watching the episode where the FBI bugs the lamp in the basement. A perfect Saturday evening.

Antipasto night

Antipasto night

Antipasto night

If you’re thinking about assembling a similar masterpiece, here’s a list of everything I served:

Hot aged pepper salami
Marinated eggplant stuffed with provolone
Home-made rosemary olive oil flatbread
Boschutto al Tartufo (Sheep/cow’s milk cheese with black truffles)
Capicollo
Rapini with garlic and chili
Pickled pearl onions
Baby pickled
Pimiento-stuffed olives
Dolmades
Aged wild boar sausage
Smoked ham stuffed with goat’s cheese
Prosciutto
Smoked mozzarella
marinated mushrooms
Artichoke hearts
Honeydew melon
Home-made crusty italian bread
Olive oil and aged balsamic vinegar
Home-made marinara sauce (for dipping bread in)
Chianti

Antipasto

Buon Appetito!

Categories: Food

If you want, you could subscribe to all this

But only if you want. No pressure.

6 Comments on “A night of antipasto indulgence”

  1. sandra chrysler
    January 19, 2013 at 2:45 pm #

    My very favourite meal. I’m actually drooling.Yipes, I’m Pavlov’s dog.

    • September 15, 2014 at 1:42 am #

      Fabulous meal, I spotted the picture on Pinterest and it led me here, and as my favourite show is The Sopranos, I just had to indulge myself. I pretty much made it the same, can’t get rapini here so I had rocket dressed in olive oil and chili, popped season 4 on from the box set, bottle of Montepulciano d’Abruzzo and as you say, pretty much a perfect sunday evening.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Duck prosciutto | Soph n' Stuff - January 9, 2014

    […] goes great in sandwiches or salads, on pizza, or just on its own in an antipasto plate, with a little melon. But it takes a long time to dry-cure a pork leg. A long time indeed, and you […]

  2. Easy Pasta with Rapini Chips « jittery cook - February 19, 2013

    […] A night of antipasto indulgence (sophnstuff.wordpress.com) […]

  3. Veal chops with balsamic glaze « Soph n' Stuff - January 26, 2013

    […] a mushroom risotto, using up a tiny, microscopic nubbin of Boschetto al Tartufo leftover from both Antipasto night and Mushroom soup à la gratinée. I thought and thought about what would go well with such a rich […]

  4. Wild boar sausage pizza with smoked mozzarella « Soph n' Stuff - January 24, 2013

    […] last remnants of my recent antipasto adventure were half of a wild boar sausage and a scrap of smoked […]

Leave a Reply

