New Year’s Eve: Lobster Mac n’ Cheese

Cheesler and I don’t really make a big deal over New Year’s eve. Eating something delicious for dinner, drinking a bottle of champagne and watching a soviet romantic comedy is par for the course in the Soph n’ Stuff household. At midnight we clink glasses, kiss, give the dog a snuggle and head on up to bed. Then on the first day of January, we are well rested, not hungover and ready to start the new year.

Lobster meat

This year I wanted to make something relatively easy, but elevated somehow to a gourmet level. I had been pondering the idea of lobster for the last week or so, and when I saw in the Sobey’s flyer that not only were they on sale, but that they would steam one whole for you while you shop, I was convinced.

I shall name him Rocky.

I shall name him Rocky.

I have seen Lobster Mac n’ Cheese on many menus, and have always been a fan on fancying-up Mac n’ Cheese in any way possible. Since Sobey’s had already done all the killing work for me I would avoid the squeamish experience of screaming crustaceans, I decided to go for it.

I shall name him Rocky

I shall name him Rocky

If there’s anyone in this world who I would rely on to provide a perfectly decadent recipe, it would be Ina Garten, and I’m not ashamed to say I went straight to the Food Network website once I had the idea. I was not disappointed. I adapted the recipe ever so slightly, but I’m sure the original would be just as scrumptious.

When I was at the grocery store I spied this type of pasta I’ve never seen before. It calls itself gnocchi but I always thought gnocchi referred to potato pasta only. I bought it anyway, it was shaped like a little fluffy cloud whose pockets would hold lobster chunks and three-cheese sauce very well.

Gnocchi?!

Gnocchi?!

After I broke down the steamed lobster and extracted the meat, I took the head and shell bits, added some leek tops and a clove of garlic and made a lobster stock, which I would later boil then pasta in. I never miss an opportunity to make stock from animal bits that would otherwise be discarded.

Lobster stock

Finished lobster stock

Gnocchi cooked in lobster stock

A decadent mac n’ cheese calls for at least three fancy cheeses in my book, so I picked up some fontina, gruyere and parmesan. I wanted sweet, rich and nutty cheese flavours but didn’t want to overpower the delicate lobster flavours so I think this combination worked perfectly.

The Cheese trio

The Cheese trio

The cheese trio

The perfect accoutrement to Lobster Mac n’ Cheese is a fine champagne. Cheesler was recently in France for work and picked up a lovely bottle of Laurent Perrier Demi-Sec and we’d been saving it for several months. It went down real easy, let me tell you. One bottle was not enough!

A fine bottle of champagne

The final product, eaten while snuggled on the couch with my handsome boy watching a Russian New Year’s Eve comedy, turned out exquisitely.

Lobster Mac n' Cheese

Exactly as I thought it would be: creamy, deliciously sweet and lobstery.

Lobster Mac n' Cheese

Annnnnd here’s the morbid shot with the poor lobster legs clutching the ramekin. Sorry, I couldn’t resist!

Lobster Mac n' Cheese

Okay, now for the close up. What do you think? Will you try Lobster Mac n’ Cheese next New Year’s Eve? Here’s the recipe, in case you do.

Lobster Mac n' Cheese

ps: if you’ve been wondering what the heck I’ve been up to over the last few months, head on over to my Flickr site, I’ve posted some photos of my new house in my town!

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Categories: Food

If you want, you could subscribe to all this

But only if you want. No pressure.

2 Comments on “New Year’s Eve: Lobster Mac n’ Cheese”

  1. marilyn
    January 3, 2013 at 7:13 pm #

    knowing Steve and macaroni, this ramekin is a little small.

    • January 4, 2013 at 6:10 am #

      This is true. I did a pretty-looking one in a ramekin for photography purposes and a great big one in a casserole dish for pigging out purposes 🙂

Leave a Reply

