Niçoise salad

Now for something completely different.

The Soph n’ Stuff household has, to date, been a staunch Cobb Salad loyalist. But when I glanced in the fridge the other day and saw a box of my beloved artisan lettuces and a bag of green beans I had intended to cook a a side dish but forgot, I went in search of a recipe that would incorporate the two.

I had seen recipes for Niçoise salad before and was always kid of grossed out by the canned tuna aspect. But then I came across one that used seared tuna slices instead, and was intrigued. Plus, I have been thinking about Niçoise salad ever since my quail egg obsession.

I didn’t end up using quail eggs because I couldn’t make it to T&T supermarket where they are only $2.99, and I didn’t feel like spending an exorbitant amount on them at my beloved St. Lawrence Market where they are sure to be overpriced.

I did, however, pick up a lovely, expensive, sushi-grade piece of yellowfin tuna at the market.

The salad has lots of components, and I realise now that purists from Nice would probably scoff at my untraditional version. For example, the Wikipedia article states that no cooked vegetables are to be used. I used cooked red potatoes and I blanched my green beans. So?

The traditional recipe also calls for anchovies but I skipped this because there was already fresh fish in the dish. I have, however, bookmarked the anchovy thing for later (if I can find them fresh) I want to make some kind of rustic italian or french dish with them.

It turned out really nice. The tuna was fresh and hearty and the vinaigrette was tangy. The beans provided a snappy crunch and the potatoes and eggs really filled out the dish. Cheesler and I were both full after a serving of this salad.

Here’s the recipe! Niçoise salad

Tags: , , , , , , , ,

Categories: Food

If you want, you could subscribe to all this

But only if you want. No pressure.

9 Comments on “Niçoise salad”

  1. February 13, 2012 at 6:45 pm #

    This looks really good! 🙂

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Salade Nicoise « what's for dinner - April 20, 2012

    […] Niçoise salad (sophnstuff.wordpress.com) Share this:TwitterFacebookLike this:LikeBe the first to like this post. […]

  2. THIS WEEK’S PICK for Best Food Blog Recipe Search Spaghetti with Walnut and Anchovies « Vittles and Bits - February 20, 2012

    […] you have ever had a good Nicoise Salad, you will know how a surprisingly simple dish can be so delicious and filling.  This one, on Soph […]

  3. Today`s Best Food Blog Recipe Search Pick – Chicken Marsala and Mushroom Stew « Vittles and Bits - February 18, 2012

    […] you have ever had a good Nicoise Salad, you will know how a surprisingly simple dish can be so delicious and filling.  This one, on Soph […]

  4. Today`s Best Food Blog Recipe Search Pick – Spaghetti with Walnuts and Anchovies « Vittles and Bits - February 18, 2012

    […] you have ever had a good Nicoise Salad, you will know how a surprisingly simple dish can be so delicious and filling.  This one, on Soph […]

  5. Today`s Best Food Blog Recipe Search Pick – Smitten Kitchen`s Goulash! « Vittles and Bits - February 16, 2012

    […] you have ever had a good Nicoise Salad, you will know how a surprisingly simple dish can be so delicious and filling.  This one, on Soph […]

  6. Seafood in Thai Red Coconut Curry Best Food Blog Recipe Search (in the universe!) « Vittles and Bits - February 15, 2012

    […] you have ever had a good Nicoise Salad, you will know how a surprisingly simple dish can be so delicious and filling.  This one, on Soph […]

  7. Best Food Blog Recipe Search (in the universe!) Primal Texas Chili « Vittles and Bits - February 14, 2012

    […] you have ever had a good Nicoise Salad, you will know how a surprisingly simple dish can be so delicious and filling.  This one, on Soph […]

  8. Best Food Blog Recipe Search (in the universe!) « Vittles and Bits - February 13, 2012

    […] you have ever had a good Nicoise Salad, you will know how a surprisingly simple dish can be so delicious and filling.  This one, on Soph […]

Leave a Reply

