It’s been a long time, lentil soup

I am back!

I know it’s been a long time since I posted anything new. I have been neglecting my dear blog to all of you, my twelve devoted readers (hi, mom).

I have been trying to eat healthier as of late. I guess you could call it a new year’s resolution. But really, it’s a “holy crapo I’m going to Cuba in 8 weeks and need to look great in my itsy bitsy bikini” resolution.

I’m not really following any kind of diet, given my convictions about not absolutely denying oneself pleasure. And I never really have been a big junk food eater. I very rarely eat fast food, and I recoil in horror at the sight of cake or candy. I don’t drink soda or high calorie coffee beverages.

I’m just sticking to things like whole grains, legumes, lots of fruits and vegetables, lean meats and dairy, and have cut out things like white baguettes, and have stopped cooking with butter (sob!).

Poor Cheesler has been forced to slink away to all-you-can-eat rib nights at Montana’s without me, to compensate for the reduced calories I am subjecting him to.

And then there’s exercise. Yoga in the morning, 5 days a week, and the gym after work. Plus dog walking and hiking on the weekends.

So, there you have it. I am feeling pretty great overall since I consciously decided to be healthier. I have more energy and stamina. And in turn, am feeling more creative!

Thus, I bring you, my hearty Lentil Soup. I found this recipe years ago in a Sonoma Diet cookbook and have tweaked it to my liking, adding this and omitting that, and I would say it has become one of my signature dishes. It is so warming and filling on a cold winter night.

Here’s the recipe! Lentil Soup

Tags: , , , , , , , , , ,

Categories: Food

If you want, you could subscribe to all this

But only if you want. No pressure.

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

