Blueberry Salsa

Sigh. Is the long weekend over already? It seemed to fly by in approximately 26 seconds. The only remaining vestiges of those glorious sunny days are the photos on my camera of a tasty little salsa I made for a BBQ.

I’ve heard of blueberry salsa but have never made it, and it is very simple. Surprisingly, it is not fruity or sweet at all, but kind of tangy and fresh.

Sure, blueberries claim to be blue, but they should really be called blueskin berries, because inside they are as green and translucent as gooseberries. Yet when you mash them up or cook them, the resulting stuff is purplish red. Hmmm. I don’t understand them. But I love ‘em.

I had planned on making a simple tomato salsa with chipotle anyway, but I had a pint of blueberries in the fridge and thought why the heck not? Plus, the rapture was coming and I didn’t want them to go to waste.

Try it! It was a hit at the BBQ, served with regular tortilla chips.

Click here for the recipe!

Tags: , , , , , , , ,

Categories: Food

If you want, you could subscribe to all this

But only if you want. No pressure.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. My blueberries have been explored! « Soph n' Stuff - May 25, 2011

    […] Blueberry Salsa (sophieidsinga.wordpress.com) […]

Leave a Reply

