Tom Khaa

Obviously, I have been on a Thai kick. I just love the fresh, bright flavours, the spiciness and the simplicity of the methods. And I have been thinking about making Tom Yum soup for quite some time. Mmmm, just thinking about the sweet lemongrass, the citrusy lime leaf, the spicy chillies and the plump shrimp is making my mouth water right now. I’m like Pavlov’s dog, except for Thai soup. Oops, there I go again.

Technically, Tom Khaa is Tom Yum soup except with coconut milk in the broth. I found making this soup fascinating because the method is such a polar opposite to the classic french preparation of most soups. I’m used to cooking mire poix (celery, onions, and carrots) in butter or oil, then adding the meat (if any) and harder vegetables, then the liquid and seasonings.

My recipe for Tom Khaa starts by bringing the broth to a boil, then adding the fragrant vegetables – the lemongrass, garlic, ginger, lime leaf, and chilies. Eventually you get around to adding mushrooms and bell peppers, shrimp, and finally coconut milk and cilantro. It really only takes about 20 minutes to make. And it is oh-so-good…fulfilling, and heartwarming. Comfort food for a dreary winter evening.

Here’s the recipe! Tom Khaa

Tags: , , , , , , , ,

Categories: Food

If you want, you could subscribe to all this

But only if you want. No pressure.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Tortilla Chicken Soup and the Wildest Dream | Soph n' Stuff - June 23, 2013

    […] seems like everything I’m cooking lately is served in a bowl. Tom Khaa, Paneer Makhani…ok maybe it’s just those things that I’ve cooked recently. But […]

  2. Tortilla Chicken Soup and the Wildest Dream « Soph n' Stuff - March 9, 2011

    […] Mar It seems like everything I’m cooking lately is served in a bowl. Tom Khaa, Paneer Makhani…ok maybe it’s just those things that I’ve cooked recently. But […]

Leave a Reply

