Blueberry Banana Bread

I’m sure most of my faithful readers (hi mom) are aghast at the suggestion that I have made something sweet. I am not generally a sweets person. Put a double fudge sundae in front of me and I will take a tiny bite, say “mmmmm” in the context of someone trying to act like they like what they’re eating, and push the bowl away. Maybe it’s a blood sugar thing. I dunno.

Regardless, I am constantly buying bunches of bananas that I can never seem to get through before they get all diseased-looking and spotty. Thus, my banana bread was born. My colleagues at work are usually pretty happy when it appears – although it miraculously disappears within about 20 minutes.

I can’t quite remember where I found this recipe. I have it catalogued in my spiffy computer-based recipe database as “Banana Bread – good”. Suspiciously, alongside this recipe is one called “Banana Bread – not as good”. Usually, I make the one labeled as good but I have been known to deviate and make the bad one….usually when my intention is to poison someone and the horrible flavour must mask the poison.

Ok, I’m getting out of hand with the dark humour here.

Blueberry Banana Bread

Ingredients

2 ½ cups flour
1 tsp salt
2 tsp baking soda
1 cup butter
2 cups sugar
2 cups gross ripe bananas (4-6), smashed
4 eggs, slightly beaten
½ cup walnuts, chopped
½ cup fresh blueberries
1 tsp vanilla extract
smidge of cinnamon and nutmeg (optional)

Directions

1. Preheat oven to 350° F
2. Grease and flour a baking pan.
3. Combine flour, salt, baking soda in a small bowl and set aside.
4. In a large mixing bowl, combine butter, sugar and eggs, and blend well. Add bananas and blend well.
5. Add flour mixture to the banana mixture until thoroughly blended. Batter may be lumpy from bananas.
6. Fold in blueberries.
7. Pour into prepared pan, and bake until a knife inserted into the centre comes out clean. Remove from oven and cool for 5-10 minutes before dumping it out onto a wire rack to cool even more.

NOTE:
The loaf will turn a very dark brown – do not panic.

Tags: , , , , , , ,

Categories: Food

If you want, you could subscribe to all this

But only if you want. No pressure.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Winterlicious Wrap-Up: 2011 « Soph n' Stuff - February 23, 2011

    […] ice cream, I exclaimed enthusiastically to our server, was so good it was downright sexy. Note: my previous post explains my general aversion to sweets, so you see how I really took one for the team in eating all […]

Leave a Reply

