and they’re all made out of ticky tacky and they all look just the same

I have a confession. I am addicted to weed.

Er…sorry…I meant “Weeds”. I am actually addicted to Weeds, the popular Showtime TV series about a suburban mom whose husband drops dead suddenly and is faced with supporting her family by selling pot to the middle class, suburbanite fictional community of Agrestic, California. I have to admit, when I watched the first episode I was rather non-plussed, thinking it was some kind of seventh-heaven reminiscent family-values type of show with marijuana thrown in to make it seem edgy ….but as I continued to watch, I was amused by the off-colour language, the mesmerising wit of the main character Nancy and the unusual capers and hijinks that these people get into. Now, I’ve only yet watched seasons 1 and 2 so no spoiler alerts, okay people?

By now you’re realising this topic doesn’t seem related to food, photography or travel, and are wondering what has gotten into me. And I tell you, it’s the song.

The opening theme song in seasons 1-3 is called “Little Boxes” and was written in 1962 by activist and performer Malvina Reynolds. It’s a political satire about suburbia, conformist middle-class attitudes and tract housing. And it’s stuck in my head. Has been for days. I sing it in the shower, while puttering around the house, and sing along when I’m watching the show. It runs through my head mentally when I’m walking to work, when I’m in business meetings and when I’m [trying to] do yoga. The song is covered for Weeds’ opening theme by over thirty different artists, including Death Cab for Cutie, Regina Spekter, Billy Bob Thornton and Donovan.

I thought it might be therapeutic to create a collage of my thoughts on Little Boxes, that perhaps typing out the lyrics and looking at repetitive images might dispel this ongoing feedback loop in my brain.

It didn’t work.

Tags: , , , , ,

Categories: Ramblings

If you want, you could subscribe to all this

But only if you want. No pressure.

3 Comments on “and they’re all made out of ticky tacky and they all look just the same”

  1. Kelly Hay
    December 17, 2010 at 11:13 am #

    I’m so glad I stumbled across this post because now I know I’m not the only one!! I recently became addicted to Weeds too and that song ~~ oh my gosh ~~ I catch myself singing it all the time!!

  2. Anonymous
    December 15, 2010 at 12:23 pm #

    Hi Sophie, It’s called an earworm.

  3. janna
    December 13, 2010 at 8:24 pm #

    i also love weeds! i won’t spoil it, but i will tell you it definitely gets a lot more serious as the seasons go on … and the credits change so you won’t get the song stuck in your head the more you watch 🙂

Leave a Reply

