Caprese and Calabrese Paninis

Today I was craving nachos for lunch. It seems for some reason lately whenever I’m craving nachos, I end up going to the grocery store and getting the stuff to make something else. I think it’s this niggling voice in the back of my mind that says: “make something you can take lovely pictures of, so that you can post it on your blog”.

He he. When I was typing that out just now it played in my head like a ghosty moaning sound. “maaaake something you can take loooooovely pictures oooooof…”. Hmmmm. Anyway, I’m getting off track here, and also being creepy.

Don’t get me wrong, I’m sure lovely photos could be taken of nachos. And now that I think of it, I have already started concocting ideas for a nice nacho photo essay. I’m thinking ooey gooey cheese, bright jalapenos and cherry red peppers. Great photo ops. Stay tuned, my hungry little hippos.

Anyway, I digress further. The real point of today’s post is the scrumptious panini lunch I made this afternoon. I’m not usually one for paninis, as they usually come in cafes and coffee shops….I’m always somewhat underwhelmed by them. But I do have a little indoor electric grill that works just dandy for grilling sandwiches. And anytime you give me an excuse to eat  grilled focaccia bread, I’m gonna take it. Let’s face it, we all know that we love carbs. Especially the unhealthy ones that come from white bread and potatoes. We just aren’t allowed to eat them in polite society, anymore. Sigh.

So, without further ado, read on, dear carb lovers…

It’s pretty easy to make a panini. You take your ingredients and slice ’em up…

Then you spend 20 minutes taking pictures of them while your boyfriend grumbles hungrily over his xbox controller.

Assemble, then pop those suckers in the grill while you prepare your salad. I used spring mix greens dressed with a balsamic sesame vinaigrette.

Et voila! Lunch is served. Check out the oozing melty cheese and those perfectly browned grill marks.

Now, to begin planning my nacho extravaganza!

Tags: , , , , , , , ,

Categories: Food

If you want, you could subscribe to all this

But only if you want. No pressure.

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

