A fond farewell, a joyous welcome, and an apology to my bank account.

I would like to take a moment to say goodbye to my Nikon AF-S Nikkor 18-55 mm Lens. An unfortunate tripod mounting incident resulted in its demise yesterday. It happened immediately after I exclaimed to my boyfriend that I need to step up my food blogging and take better photos so that I will be featured on foodpress.com. Not 5 minutes later I was collapsed on the floor sobbing at the weird rattling sound the lens was making. It was a good lens for a beginner. It captured many a fond memory in Europe. It taught me what Aperture is. This post is its open-casket funeral.

And without further ado, I would like to introduce you to the newest member of the household, the Sigma DC  17-70 mm F 2.8-4.5 Macro HSM. The Nikon did “ok” macros but not great. This lens is supposed to be enhanced for Macros without actually being a “Macro” Lens. Which means I can use it to take wide-angled shots too. So I’m pretty happy. My bank account is not.

Look at all these fancy numbers I don’t yet understand…

And….a sample of its early work…

Make me proud, Sigma. I look forward to many happy years with you. Provided I don’t pop you off the top of a tripod onto the wooden floor.

Tags: , , , ,

Categories: Photography

If you want, you could subscribe to all this

But only if you want. No pressure.

One Comment on “A fond farewell, a joyous welcome, and an apology to my bank account.”

  1. November 9, 2010 at 1:05 am #

    I’m happy and sad for you all at the same time, LOL.

    Sigma makes pretty good lens, just be careful of the ones you buy.

    Raven

Leave a Reply

