In with the new!

I have received a few new things that I have been waiting for! Today is a new month, a new week, a new day, full of new things!

First, my new librarian glasses! They’re tortoise-something.

"have you returned your books late, young man?"

My new, apple-green iPod shuffle, which I can’t use yet because apparently I have to buy a new Mac OS X Operating System, then download the new iTunes 10.

"Time to upgrade your entire system for an mP3 player" -Steve Jobs

My new, carbon-steel Calphalon Chef’s Knife and Santoku Knife, which I received at the employee price thanks to my foodie colleague (you know who you are, Madame Justice)

All the better to slice and dice with, my dear.

Here is my murderous librarian-wielding-new-knifes shot.

"one step closer and I'll remove your giblets"

I love these knives. They are so sharp and beautiful. To test the sharpness I dragged one through a couple of green onions while applying no pressure to the knife. Yep, sliced that sucker as easily as a glass noodle. After the sharpness test, I prepared this feast:

'and I made it all with my knives"

Ok, I’m lying, I didn’t make that feast. And who has salmon and beef tenderloin for dinner? With grapes? Come on…

Here’s what I really did.

For this result:

Beef and Snowpeas!

After all that, the knives were sleepy. They had a long trip to get to me, then murdering all those scallions….I couldn’t bear to part with them so I took them to bed. Look at those li’l scamps, all tuckered out…

"G'nite Chef"..."Sweet Dreams, Santoku"

Tags: , , , ,

Categories: Food

If you want, you could subscribe to all this

But only if you want. No pressure.

2 Comments on “In with the new!”

  1. Colin
    November 2, 2010 at 5:18 am #

    New specs are very flattering. I recommend accessorizing with chopsticks in your hair!

    • November 2, 2010 at 9:19 pm #

      yes, chopsticks, and certainly not the knives!

Leave a Reply

