A Day at the Farmer’s Market

I discovered quickly after moving into our “interim” accommodations in Mississauga that there is a weekly farmer’s market that happens at (surprise, surprise) the mall every Friday and Sunday. Today I spent about 2 hours there, browsing through the stands, groping and pinching and nibbling what the vendors had to offer – the food, of course. I hadn’t planned very well, and had only brought about $15 in cash, so my choices were limited. But as each vendor insists you try everything that they’re selling, you could probably get away with a free lunch, provided that you don’t mind eating slices of peaches, a grape or two, a sliver of salami, a cherry tomato, a sprig of dill, a mouthful of organic fair-trade coffee, a piece of cheese, a handful of blueberries, a strawberry, and a couple of plums for lunch. And of course, flirting ever so slightly with the vendors will get you larger portions. But then you have to deal with the little pet names they assign you, being a cute girl – sweetheart, darlin’, hon, pretty lady. 

This market surprised me the first time I went there. I was expecting a bunch of rough-and-tumble old farmers in overalls and straw hats and dirty hands. Instead, I found many to be young, trendy, even urban-looking individuals. And the thing is, they are entrepreneurs – they grow the food, then switch into salespeople. One booth was a group of young girls running back and forth, handing out cherries and corn and basil, bopping to the electronic music they were playing from their car stereo or boombox.
Another booth was selling fair-trade organic coffee. They served samples in tiny recycled/biodegradable wheat-based cups. Their iced coffees for sale were served in those plastic cups that are made from corn. They handed out little packets of 100% cane sugar. The milk was organic. Impressive!
My purchases totalled 3 zucchinis, a quart of strawberries and a quarter pound of coffee. I also had to stop at the ice-cream truck on my way out and get a blueberry frozen yogourt, for the road home. I will definitely be making an appearance next week, this time with more cash in hand!
Categories: Food

If you want, you could subscribe to all this

But only if you want. No pressure.

3 Comments on “A Day at the Farmer’s Market”

  1. July 27, 2008 at 3:44 pm #

    I love markets! I recently went to the one in Victoria for the first time – but I can tell it falls short of your TDOT market. Jealous.

  2. July 26, 2008 at 2:21 pm #

    I miss you too, hunnybunny!

  3. July 26, 2008 at 1:46 am #

    Score! I love the market oh so much. Last week I spent $25 on nothing but fruit. Tomorrow’s budget includes maaaaple buuuutter. By the way, I miss you!

Leave a Reply

